My top Vietnamese Restaurant in London

Vietnamese food has recently been growing in popularity lately in London. It used to be chain Vietnamese restaurants dominating the scene, but with new, independent Vietnamese restaurants opening  in more popular destinations within central London, the scene has certainly shifted.

The most well known Vietnamese restaurant in central London I’d have to say is Cay Tre. It’s my go to Viet restaurant in central London if I wanted viet food, but is too lazy search for a new restaurant I haven’t tried yet. Based in the heart of Soho, it is a popular choice for lunch or a quick dinner around the area. You can count on good food that is close to authentic Vietnamese food. Well, authentic to me anyway. I’m Asian, so my thoughts on this matter is relatively legit (or so I like to believe).

both

Above left: Classic Pho (steak and beef brisket)

Above Right: BBQ Pork Loin with Rice Vermicelli (Bum Cha Hanoi) with a good portion of fish sauce and chilli mix

What: Vietnamese food

Where: 42-43 Dean St, London W1D 4PZ

Why: Authentic Vietnamese food, doesn’t disappoint in tasting authentic

Pho

The classic pho is perfect for pho eating beginners. It gives you a good introduction into what pho tastes like and what you should expect with Vietnamese flavouring. The beef was cooked to a good tenderness level and the broth was well flavoured; you can definitely tell the broth has been cooked for a while absorbing the flavours from the beef.

 

bun mi

The BBQ Pork Loin with Rice Vermicelli is one of my favourite dish at Cay Tre and one I order repeatedly each time I visit. Looking at the image makes my mouth water! It’s a step up from your usual pho. This one comes served cold, and by that I mean the vermicelli is cold as well as the fish sauce mix but the grilled lemongrass marinated pork and pork spring rolls are hot. Great combination in flavours, fragrance and temperature.

-Eats Escapades

2 thoughts on “My top Vietnamese Restaurant in London

Leave a Reply

