Green Tea Everything

Another post on cake! I do love my dessert – a little bit of sweet treat here and there won’t hurt ๐Ÿ™‚

So last week, I was introduced to another amazing cake shop. They specialize in french patisserie but with an Asian twist; focusing mainly on french patisserie with green tea infused flavours. However, I have to say I was slightly apprehensive at first (green tea flavoured french dessert, really?) but the foodie in me was more curious than my uncertainty so I took the trip.

From east London I traveled all the way to North West London stopping at Finchley Road. Here lays Lanka, ย Cake shop and Tea Salon. Owned by a reputable french cuisine Japanese chef who has worked in multiple Michelin star restaurants and run mainly by Japanese hires. The serviceย is great, unbelievably polite servers even though the restaurant was so small (it can only seat a maximum of about 15 people at once from what I remember) and there was a long line forming inside.

Shame I don’t have a picture of the cake display (they all looked delicious) but below is what we had:

Image post 4 02

*picture clearly formatted for instragram

Of course, we chose the green tea flavoured ones ๐Ÿ™‚

Post 4 image 03

From left to right: Green Teaย Paris Brest,ย Green Tea Panna Cotta and Green Tea Tart.

Post 4 image (tea)

We also ordered tea (cake with tea of course!): Green Tea Rose Petal and Royal Delight. I loved the royal delight! Fruity and smells delicious!

Post 4 image (teacup)

And of course, the tea is accompanied by beautifully designed tea cups as well.

The decoration of the shop took the minimalist route with white as the dominant colour used for walls/display shelves and brown for tables.ย Not sure if it was deliberate but it really enhances the colours of the cakes and makes them stand out against the neutral colours of the shop.

Overall, great experience and delicious cakes I’d definitely recommend this place ๐Ÿ™‚

-EatsEscapades

One thought on “Green Tea Everything

Leave a Reply

