Is that a shop? Oh no wait, it’s a cafe!

12312022_10153141836001143_1022100791_nWe have all walked past that interesting looking shop on the corner having absolutely no clue what it is. For me, there’s this quirky little shop on the corner with clothes, accessories and just one fashionably clothed mannequin by the window. You can actually see this mannequin on the photo; as real as it looks, no that is not a human being standing staring out the window.

Curious as to what it really is, rather than walking in store to check out what it is as logic would tell you (because, gasp, how could I!) I instead stood outside the store and awkwardly peered through the window hoping my nose doesn’t accidentally touch the window (because firstly, gross and secondly, people inside will have full view of my nostrils pressed against the window). I noticed what looked to be a counter with cakes and blackboard menus on the wall. Intrigued, I took down the name which was Lavish Habit and later searched the place up online (as I had to go) and turned out it was really a coffee shop!

The coffee shop market has grown so much from your infamous chain stores to the artisan coffees to the minimalist hipster coffee shops; it really is getting very hard to stand out. However, Lavish Habit has seemed to have done just that. by pairing an interesting mix of quirky accessories and clothing with cakes, coffee and small bites, it has fast become one of my favourite coffee shops in London. What a better combination for a food and shopaholic like me than eating your food whilst window shopping?!

It still manages to maintain a very cosy, homely atmosphere to it even though it is essentially a shop that sells things. It seems to have achieved this with the dim warm lighting and brick walls. The clothes and accessories seems more like a decorative approach, a bit like a cute, small boutique where you can eat and chill inside.

I haven’t tried the hot food but I would definitely recommend the cakes and coffee. The cakes are moist which is how I like them, the one in the picture is of the carrot and walnut cake which is very tasty. I paired this with a hot chocolate which is quite good – not as watered down as some of the others I’ve tried elsewhere.

So if you’re ever around Balham, do give them a go!

-FoodComplex

 

Leave a Reply

